If you, or someone you care about, has been charged (or may be) with a possession of marijuana charge in King County, Skagit County, Snohomish County, or Whatcom County, call Ashbach Law Offices, LLC today at (360) 659-4950 for a free, no-pressure case evaluation.
The lawyers at Ashbach Law Offices, LLC provide aggressive, strong defense for those charged with possession of marijuana offenses throughout Skagit, Snohomish, King and Whatcom Counties. Our goal is to aggressively protect you, your family and your interests from the prosecution, saving jail time, licenses, occupations and reputations. With offices in Marysville and Mill Creek, Washington, we are available to meet you discuss your case. We help good people in bad situations. Let us help you.
Possession of Less than 40 grams of Marijuana
The law criminalizing possession of small amounts of marijuana is still on the books in Washington State. RCW 69.50.4014 provides that any person found guilty of possessing 40 grams or less of “marihuana” is guilty of a misdemeanor. This means a conviction is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1000 fine. There is a mandatory 24 hours in jail and a $250 fine for a conviction. Upon second conviction, the mandatory fine is $500.
However, RCW 69.50.4013(3) makes possession in some instances to be legal. That subsection states that possession by a person 21 or older, of useable marijuana in amounts less than defined by RCW 69.50.360(3), is not a violation of any Washington State law.
The maximum allowed to be possessed, in general, is one ounce of useable marijuana, 16 ounces of marijuana-infused product in solid form or 70 ounces of marijuana-infused product in liquid form.
Possession by minors is still illegal, regardless of quantity, subject to the Medical Cannabis Act (Formerly Medical Marijuana Act).
Possession in Large Amounts and Delivery
The possession of large amounts of marijuana, or possession of amounts larger than authorized by statute for persons over 21, is still illegal and is punishable as a Felony. Delivery of marijuana is similarly a felony, except as authorized for marijuana retailers as indicated in RCW 69.50.360. Even the simple passing of a joint between two people is chargeable as delivery of a controlled substance, and can be subject to additional enhancements if a minor is involved.
Minors and Marijuana
Subject to medical marijuana laws, any possession of marijuana by a person under the age of 21 is illegal, and may be punishable as either a misdemeanor or felony depending on the quantity alleged to be possessed. A conviction for less than 40 grams requires a mandatory 24 hours in jail and a $250 fine. Upon second conviction, the mandatory fine is $500.
A marijuana conviction can affect one’s ability to get federal student loans, ability to obtain certain types of jobs, and suspend or revoke a driver’s license, among other non-court-related ramifications.
If a minor age 13-20 is convicted of a marijuana charge, or signs diversion paperwork, that minor’s license is to be revoked for a year upon a first offense. However, early reinstatement may be possible.
Ashbach Law Offices, LLC, aggressively represents clients throughout the Washington I-5 corridor, covering Skagit, Snohomish, King and Whatcom Counties. Regular courts of practice include, but are not limited to, Anacortes, Arlington, Bellevue, Bellingham, Blaine, Burlington, Edmonds, Everett, Issaquah, Lynnwood, Marysville, Monroe, Mount Vernon, Mountlake Terrance, Redmond, Seattle, Sedro Woolley and Shoreline.